top of page

[Featured] 2017 Year in Review: Kdramas I Cared About, Part 1


Wow, I can't believe a year has passed already! And the reason why I'm so excited is because my favorite Featured Article is here: "Kdramas I Cared About Awards 2017!!" --well Part 1, that is.

We finally reached the finish line in our Kdrama parade this year and many of the floats of these dramas were equally competitive and ambitious altroughout. This year in the kdramaland, there were frequent trips to courtrooms, chasing felons with detectives, meeting extraordinary prisoners, and basking on love-affirming romantic tales, which sums up our 2017. I was also able to discover more genuine characters and inventive plots. However, this is also the year that made me realize that there were dramas who live the hype in the beginning rather than leaving impact as a whole. There were a lot of times I was hyped for a certain drama but had to drop it mid-way because it was not consistent with how it was marketed or simply didn't like how it went.


Nevertheless, kdramas are still going further with ingenious imagination and amusing antics that even non-kdrama fans get engaged in everything kdrama.


This article, like what I did last year, will contain the dramas I watched, did not finish and will be watching in the future. Basically, they're the contenders that I will be needing in the next part of this article.


Shall we start?

 

"Circle: Two Worlds"

Circle review: "Goddamn, this show rocked my world. Perhaps Circle isn’t everyone’s thing, and that’s a valid opinion, but for me it was a perfect show. I loved that even with the clever plot and twists, it didn’t forget to have a heart—ultimately, the story was driven by love."


"Goblin: The Lonely and Great God"

Goblin review: "Goblin swept the whole world with its unparalleled fantasy story line, unexpected twists, powerhouse casts and eye for cinematography! No one could ever deny the immense popularity of the drama!"


"Hwarang: The Beginning"

Hwarang review: "Hwarang definitely was stuffed with talented actors. The men were also intriguing, and I love that they each seem to have their own mystery. One thing the show seems to have done very right is the casting because everyone seems well-suited to their roles. For now, I'm congratulating myself for finishing my first-ever historal drama. Hooray!"

"I Am Not A Robot"

I Am Not A Robot review: "Even if overused and so done with the plot, I Am Not A Robot is looking at the brighter side of unconventional treats with strong performances from actors who seemed like they were having fun. And I'm amused alongside with them!"


"Legend of the Blue Sea"

Legend of the Blue Sea review: "Legend of the Blue Sea surprised us with powerhouse main leads - Lee Min Ho and Jeon Ji Hyun - which makes them automatic magnet of fans. This drama greets us with a sweet, funny ride because of Ji hyun's antics and praising Lee Min Ho some extra props for driving this show along."


"A Liar and His Lover"

A Liar and His Lover review: "A Liar and His Lover speaks to me with its breezy feel-good spirit; the tone, the mood, and the heart are all very engaging. So bring on the conflict! Bring on the lies! I’m ready for the long haul."


"Manhole"

Manhole review: "Maybe I'll eventually like it because maybe it's fun and it's still warming up to me but judging from the first episode, it was a poor welcome. What I expect from this is not a happy ending, but a 180° character development."


"Missing 9"

Missing 9 review: "I've liked Missing 9ever since seeing its concept of castaways. It was something untouched and I'd like to see how Korean treats this kind of genre."


"My Secret Romance"

My Secret Romance review: "The fact that although it’s a typical rom-com of a drama, with an inspiration of Fated to Love You, I couldn’t help but feel giddy while watching it. It’s like a guilty-pleasure and I loved every second of it."


"Reunited Worlds"

Reunited Worlds review: "Reunited Worlds may be far from a perfect drama, but it’s a beautiful love letter to the power of love, and how it can change even the worst of circumstances for the better."

"Romantic Doctor, Teacher Kim"

Romantic Doctor, Teacher Kim review: "This medical drama may be weird, intriguing and flawed (but in a very appealing way) but sometimes all you need is to have that weirdness in you. Romantic Doctor, Teacher Kim is very consistent in plot pacing and it won't leave you yawning in boredom."


"Strong Woman Do Bong Soon"

Strong Woman Do Bong Soon review: "I've been squeeing for days. I love this couple, and up to its last episodes, it was still like a burst of candy in the veins. It meanders on tangents and ridiculous side stories from time to time, but once I see Bong-bong and Min-min together on screen, I forgive the show for everything."


"Suspicious Partner"

Suspicious Partner review: "The first episode had me cackling out loud at its hairpin turns of hilarity and rapid-fire repartee, and the light, breezy rom-com tone had me hooked. Then the murder case came crashing in and I found myself suddenly emotionally invested in deeper throughlines"


"The Best Hit"

The Best Hit review: "Ji-hoon’s (Kim Min Jae) parting monologue perfectly sums up the overall message of hope The Best Hit aspired to convey. Every person has dreams they have chased, put aside, or were lucky enough to achieve, and we could see those varied forms in the lives of our characters."


"Three Color Fantasy Series"

Three Color Fantasy Series 1, 2 & 3 review: "Three dramas about romance and life lessons embossed in it. It satisfies my drama cravings but in a short, intimate while and that's all I ask for."

"Tunnel"

Tunnel review: "Tunnel may not be the twistiest thriller-mystery out there, but the writer certainly has great sense of timing for every revelation. The question isn't what is going to be revealed. It's always about how they are going to reveal it and how each character will react to that."


"Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo"

Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo review: "Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo picked me from the ground, caressed me and lifted me up like I'm the world's lightest barbell. It's so warm and hearty because of the abundance of positivity it brings to its viewers."


"While You Were Sleeping"

While You Were Sleeping review: "It’s not a thriller, it’s not a melodrama, and it’s not a rom-com… but it is all of those things, with a touch of fantasy and a lovely melancholic touch throughout. Whatever you want to call it, I’m in."

 

I'm surprised my list got longer than it was last year! And I did not regret anything at all. There were some dramas that weren't reviewed yet because of my inner laziness but im happy to include those nonetheless. There were also some dramas that I watched and didn't get to finish, dramas that I'm still planning to watch in the future, and some that currently airs in South Korea that I'm following now. Well, I'll be mentioning them anyway to suffice the second part of this review. Yay!


Dramas I Almost Loved/Will Love/Am Loving:

• Fight For My Way

• Introverted Boss

• Tomorrow With You

• Black

• Bride of Water God

• School 2017

So for now, the above mentioned dramas are the things I enjoyed the most this year. Do wait for the Part 2 of this post to know my 2017 Kdramas I Cared About Awards verdict!! Sit back and enjoy the fresh air! Parteeehhh

Want to recall the last year's winners? Tickle me here!



Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page