top of page

[Confession] Miss Granny (PH Remake)

Here is the synopsis of the movie:


Miss Granny is a 2018 Philippine comedy-drama film based on the Korean film of the same name. Fely is a 74-year-old (Nova Villa) widow realizes she is becoming a burden on her family. She mysteriously regains her physical appearance from the age of 20 (Sarah Geronimo) and finds second chance at youth after a visit to a mysterious photo studio.


I finally watched Miss Granny PH remake! After seeing the trailer a few months back, I knew then that I had to watch this: Firstly, because Miss Granny (KR) is just one of those must-watch korean films, Secondly, Sarah Geronimo is just an artist you couldn't pass on and third, because OH MY GOSH JAMES REID.


The first thing I noticed even before was the cast was totally spot on. I could not imagine anyone playing the role other than Sarah and James (except for his accent) and Ms. Nova Villa. And I was not disappointed because they all portrayed their characters well. And Sarah's music is an icing on top, for the fact that we already know how talented she is. They're like a winning recipe for Adobo and/or Sinigang.


I actually watched almost all the versions of "Miss Granny" but this one made me cry the most. From the chemistry, the comedic lines, to the heart-breaking moments, everything was perfectly executed. That said, this Miss Granny is functional enough to translate the delights of the original Korean film for local tastes and sensibilities. My little let-down was the 'Young' version of Bert and a few minor plot holes.


The best thing from this movie (even from the other remakes) is that it has a heart that centers to the love of a mother to their children. Ms. Nova Villa's contemplative moments moves me to tears and I just cannot bear seeing any mother feel like that. It teaches us to never take anyone in our lives for granted. May this remind every kid to appreciate the sacrifices of their mother, and inspire all senior citizens to enjoy life. Nonie Buencamino's role as the son shined in his monologue opposite to his mother in the final act. If my mother wasn't with me then I would've bawled my eyes then and there. Haha!


I would say the film did better than I expected - plus the amazing soundtrack. Not your typical remake that ruins but a film that shines because its heart is in the right place.

 

My Rating:

Plot: 8.5/10

Acting: 9.6/10

Cinematography: 9.0/10

Characters: 7.8/10

Uniqueness: 5.0/10

OVERALL RATING: 7.9

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page