top of page

[Confession] Secret Superstar


Here is the synopsis of the movie:


Insia is very passionate about singing but she belongs to a very conservative family. Her father doesn't let her develop her talent but her mother secretly lets her follow her passion for singing. She begins anonymously posting her songs over the internet and gains nation wide fame including people from the music industry. The movie shows her journey to break free and follow her dream of being a singer.


I've seen a few Bollywood movies before but this is the first time I'm reviewing on my blog and I dunno why only now. But the first few Bollywood movies I have enjoyed were all Aamir Khan films so don't wonder why I've watched this, my deciding factor was him again. Haha!


You know why I adore Aamir Khan? It's because if it's from him, you expect quality. Most of the films I've watched from him before were stories full of lesson and reflection. They choose a topic to run down and they target the pros and cons of the topic via dialogue and scenes that hits so close to home. And when I watched Secret Superstar, I thought it had nothing special, until then you'll see the subtle hints on what topic they chose for the movie. That's when I realize Aamir Khan won over me again. Hands down.


The film hits the right chords to a mother-daughter relationship with a setting story of a middle class locality where not only you, but also your dreams and emotions are trapped by the 'man' of the house. Underneath the commercial scheme of chasing dreams is highlighting a relevant social issues of patriarchal society and showing the importance of mothers and women empowerment. It's a mother's unconditional love and sacrifice that holds the family together. She sacrifices all her passions and dreams for the sake of her husband and child.


Overall, the film leaves a long lasting impact on your heart letting the story teller succeed in his attempt. The usage of social media shown as a medium of expressing hidden talents is very relevant in today's time. I've actually got no more words to say for this pleasurable musical drama. Just go and watch this film, I guarantee you that you would finish this with a smile. Thank you.


As I've personally experienced visiting India and finding out how common it is to hear stories of physical and domestic violence to women from their partners, I just became so emotional. I long for the day that the world will be free from any forms of abuse to any man or woman, of different races, ages and preferred gender. Because no one deserves to be treated badly, no matter the circumstances.

 

My Rating:

Plot: 8.8/10

Acting: 9.0/10

Cinematography: 8.0/10

Theme 10/10

Uniqueness: 8.0/10

OVERALL RATING: 8.8

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page