top of page

[Featured] 2017 Year in Review: Kdramas I Cared About, Part 2


Anddd we're finally at the Part 2 of our 2017 Year in Review: Kdramas I Cared About Awards! And this article will officially conclude my Featured Post for this year. In kdramalannd this year, there were well-made Korean dramas that speak for itself through numbers, but there are also special ones which drown you with stunning writing and creative picture. I had a hard time choosing winners because unlike the solid, commendable dramas last year, this year had a problem with consistency - about how they'll keep their viewers till' the end. As for me, my forbearance was tested.


What made this year a little different than the previous ones was how we got a selection of chronicles where you would feel the writers pouring out their emotions to complement the character sketches and the imaginary worlds they built. Perhaps it’s a good sign that 2016 was full of such variety in dramaland that so many of us have walked away with a different batch of favorites and better standards at the end of the year. I always think it’s more interesting when that happens, and I can only hope that it’s an indication of a broadening drama landscape, with more to offer in years to come.


So for my Part 2 of Kdramas I Cared About, I'll present to you a list of categories and from there, I'll be choosing dramas based on my evaluation on them, justifying why I think so and why I don't. The process of selecting my choices of the year was fraught with indecision, bitter tears and angry rants as I argued with myself for better selection. Just Kidding! I won't promise that you will agree with my list 100% but I do promise that everything that's in here were purely because of my love for the craft and better judgement. I hope you wouldn't miss this for the world! Here's to present to you my Year Ender: Second KICA Awards 2017!

 

KICA AWARDS 2017


Best Drama: Goblin


As always, this has been one of the most difficult categories as the dramas this year were fairly competitive with each other. Although it faced stiff competition from a snoozefest melodrama, a mind-bendy work of science fiction, a sweeping slap of relatable reality, and a quirky, endearing rom-com, I was equally pleased to discover that Goblin topples 'em all over and stands there just like a King.


A love that transcends time and death isn't new in kdramaland but if it was intensified by an unparalleled fantasy story line, unexpected twists, powerhouse casts and its flawless, cinematic execution, Goblin did an amazing job giving its audience the perfect ingredients of romance, bromance, aegyo, laughs, suspense, drama, heartache and fun combined creating a top-notch drama to beat. The title Best Drama is clearly theirs to begin with—in this life, and beyond.


Runner Ups:

Circle

Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo


Best Writing: Circle



Reinventing the story line of having two worlds gave Circle a chance to gamble into a game they're actually good at. Circle may have marketed itself as a science fiction thriller, but it was so much more. When I watched this, I didn't know what world I liked most: 2017 or 2037. They both had a story so compelling and heart-wrenching that I decided not to choose but love them all the same. I was always dyiinggg to know the revelation, but also a little scared of what it might yield. I bawled buckets, the show ended, and my heart was full - thanks to how the screenplay was written.



Runner Ups:

While You Were Sleeping

Goblin


Best Directing: Goblin


Ha! Goblin is our incumbent winner in this category for two years in a row! We have to thank writer Kim Eun-Sok for penning the script of this drama but it is Director Lee Eun-Bok who brought an ambitious vision to this drama, breathing life into this alternate, fantastical reality where a 900-year-old goblin’s mood determined the weather and grim reapers served as the tea-serving gatekeepers to the afterlife. Not only was this world believable, it was also visually stunning and epic in scale, even in the smallest, personal moments between our characters, achieved in no small part by PD Lee’s sentimental and steady directorial hand. More from him, please!


Runner Ups:

While You Were Sleeping

Legend of the Blue Sea


Best Comedy: Strong Woman Do Bong Soon



Strong Woman Do Bong Soon delivered some of the most memorable OTPs of the year, with metaphors, puns, and strong, flying punches as fast as the whiplash of public opinion. We knew this drama would be funny. It just had to be, with its premise of a tiny yet mighty woman beating the heck out of men that were literally twice her size. Equipped with physical slapstick, devastating punches to Min Hyuk's to die aegyo, the humor was for everyone to consume.


To top it all off, Strong Woman Do Bong Soon did not only offer hilarious antics but it surprisingly shown depth plot-wise. I've seen one of the creepiest villains in dramaland and a couple so lovable and funny at the same time!


Runner Ups:

Legend of the Blue Sea


Best Thriller: Circle



Other than the fact that the screenplay is engrossing, Circle is also the Best Thriller out there this year. The cleverness of its conceit wasn’t in introducing an extraterrestrial technology that humans couldn’t crack but the beauty was in the simple idea that given an unknown, powerful technology with the potential to do great good as well as great harm, humans will never be able to just leave it be.


One proven formula for an effective Thriller are cliffhangers, and Circle gave us two each episode, thanks to the split timelines between the modern-day 2017 “Beta Project” and the dystopian 2037 “Brave New World.” The main draw was in figuring out how these two timelines connected, although each timeline was filled with enough twists and turns to be a compelling story in its own right.


Runner Ups:

Tunnel

Missing 9

Romantic Doctor, Teacher Kim


Best Actor: Gong Yoo, Goblin



No one can deny the fact that Gong Yoo gave his fullest potential in Goblin after turning down dramas for almost five years. A 900-year-old Goblin who dreams of finding his bride brought out raw and viscerable that I felt they were reaching out of the screen to dig into my chest and clutch at my heart. He could make us laugh, cry and be mad if he wants us to. His performance in Goblin was a tour de force of passion and power, the kind of acting that left me breathless and in shock at what he had become. His performance elevated Goblin to make it become an even better drama than it was. I couldn't imagine Goblin without him. How many actors can boast of that?


Runner Ups:

Yeo Jin Goo, Circle

Ji Chang Wook, Suspicious Partner


Best Actress: Lee Sung Kyung, Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo



When you thought Lee Sung Kyung would forever be stuck as the 'bratty bitchin' character, oh boy was I so wrong. Lee Sung Kyung proved her versatility as an Actress when she cut her hair into a mushroom, gained 5 pounds and started lifting weights just to fit the role of Kim Bok Joo in Weightlifting Fairy. Lee Sung Kyung's commitment to Kim Bok Joo's charming character continued, but she also sensitively transformed after losing her direction along the way. Her portrayal straddled this dichotomy with a palpable fragility that made your heart break as you watched her spirit slowly fade. But just when you thought that the weight of depression had crushed her, she returned with a fierce conviction and vulnerable bravery that made her sparkle so beautifully. That's my girl.


Runner Ups:

Nam Ji Hyun, Suspicious Partner

Kim Go Eun, Goblin


Best Ensemble: Missing 9



Individually, the Missing 9 cast was quirky and adorable. But tucked into an uninhabited island, they transformed into something magical — a true family. When they lived off an island for 4 months, they protected each other like a family would do because basically, they only had each other. Also when they were rescued, they still bond and help each other. The best ensemble casts are the ones that make you believe that the characters weren’t frozen in time before the camera turned on — and that they’ll still be talking, laughing, painting walls and faces long after the camera has turned off.


Runner Ups:

Hwarang

Suspicious Partner


Best Music: The Best Hit



The Best Hit being a drama about the showbiz industry, showcased awesome Soundtracks from BoA, Punch, Kyuhyun and from the casts itself that has uplifting, cheery vibes. When the episode was so-so and the music fades in, I closed my eyes and just listen. It made me feel better than the drama itself. Dabong! (Thumbs up!)


Runner Ups:

Goblin





Best Character: Kim Bok Joo, Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo



I am forever thankful to the production of Weightlifting Fairy for creating a character so relatable to the Youth in the form of Kim Bok Joo. This was a show about young adults experiencing love for the first time, it was also a story about growing up and becoming independent. It was so true-to-life that the problems faced by Bok Joo and Joon Hyung were vital and important to them, but are issues that many young people their age face. Sick family members, fighting with friends, struggling to move from childhood worries to grown-up concerns like what to do with your future — these are things so universal that we’ve all been through them at one time or another. I could honestly go on and on about what a wonderful drama Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo is, and never run out of positive things to say.


Runner Ups:

Grim Reaper, Goblin

Do Bong Soon, Strong Woman Do Bong Soon


Best Villain: Kidnapper, Strong Woman Do Bong Soon



This Woman Kidnapper in Strong Woman Do Bong Soon, played by Jang Mi Kwan, was the creepiest villain I found this year and he is also the villain who took off his mask and swoon the world by storm with his handsomeness. Yes, it’s wrong and his actions were not supported, but considering the fact that this was Jang Mi Kwan’s first ever drama role, he did a good job of portraying the creepy criminal.


Runner Ups:

Dong Ho, Suspicious Partner

Choi Tae Ho, Missing 9



Worst Character: Bong Pil, Manhole



I love you, baby, but you're so bad at picking dramas and a worst character at that. Bong Pil's character in Manhole was immature, irresponsible and whiny. Thanks to this hapless man-child protagonist who has a penchant for tantrums and an undying love for a woman he’s unwittingly let slip through his fingers. He may not take his studies seriously, but he’s serious about holding onto his first love, and a magical manhole just may help his cause — or it may just produce disastrous results. (still love you, baby!)


Runner Ups:

Da Bong, The Best Hit

Cha Jin Wook, My Secret Romance



Best Romance: Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo



We witnessed first-hand how Bok Joo and Joon Hyung was able to support each other in spreading their wings in their own chosen careers that led them into real-life lovers, too! Oh the magic they shared when they tease each other or cuddled up together for a cold beer at night still makes me giddy every time. We all love that guy Joon Hyung who makes fun of your insecurities because he doesn't care a bit about any of 'em and a girl like Bok Joo who was at first shy but when in love would kiss you when you need motivation to run. What could possibly be more romantic than that?


and


Strong Woman Do Bong Soon


Ahh the cute cupcake cherry-on-top couple Min Min and Bong Bong! This show was certainly not without flaws, but it gave us what has easily become one of my top favorite drama couples of all time. I could gush on and on about these two and not break a sweat. I just wish they would be real, too, like the above mentioned. It would be so cute and so adorable and so bubbly - except for the fact that Bong Bong can't carry Min Min bridal style again. Awe





Best Bromance: Strong Woman Do Bong Soon


I thought all these Bromances couldn't go on any further after Descendents of the Sun and Goblin bromance bombs but this couple (sorry, did I say couple?) took it to the next level by improving skinships and stuffs they could only do when drunk! I couldn't take it when I was watching it! It was so funny and amusing! I really commend this two, really! Hahaha!


Runner Ups:

Twin brothers, Circle



Best Girlfriends: Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo


There’s much to appreciate in Weightlifting Fairy, but near the top of that list was the friendship between Bok Joo, Hye Jung and Joo Young. These three bonds over food like any other friendship. These three found comfort in each other even when unsure of what their futures held and even go extra miles for a friend who can't go to school. They were there to encourage one another to pursue their dreams when life’s challenges weighed them down, and that’s what made these girlfriends so memorable: They were each other’s ultimate cheerleaders in this game of life.

Breakout Actor: Park Hyung Sik, Hwarang/Strong Woman Do Bong Soon

I already praised Park Hyung Sik in his portrayal as a Second Lead in Hwarang and was astound that he could be equal with Park Seo Joon in acting. As far as I can remember, there has never been a breakout performance like that one, where the second male lead in a drama is loved so universally and fiercely. I prayed for great projects along the way and what made me even more surprised was his role in Strong Woman which highlighted how flexible of an actor he is. He nailed every scene and swoon our hearts in tandem with how he acted with such strength and also gentleness. Never has Park Hyung Sik been this gorgeous in my eyes until this year.



Runner Ups:

Jung Hae In, While We Were Sleeping


Breakout Actress: Chae Soo Bin, I Am Not A Robot



Chae Soo Bin always played a Second Lead until Rebel and Strongest Delivery Man and I was able to witness her capability in I Am Not A Robot. Her role is not to be missed because it's a dual role as one very flawed human who may learn a thing or two from her robot counterpart. I'm rooting for her success since she finally stood her ground as a leading woman and I'm already happy that she has chemistry with his on-screen partner, Yoo Seung Ho.


Biggest Disappointment: Manhole


Believe me, I tried. Even though Bong Pil's character was annoying and the casts were irresponsible adults, I tried. We’ve traveled through time, altered the past and future, and mixed up countless relationships to the point where I’m now convinced that I will always get a slight headache every time I see a manhole.


Maybe the only thing I liked in the whole series was Episode 4 to 6. The End.



Runner Ups:

The Best Hit

Bride of Water God


Biggest Waste of Talent: Nam Joo Hyuk, Bride of the Water God


After his success on Weightlifting Fairy, The Bride of Water God was a total letdown for him. I thought he could carry the whole team but in the end, they dragged him down. The effects were shaky and his leading lady was so awkward. Acting-wise, he still got it. I chim in every time he cracks a smile and it was a total waste to see him doing good alone. I'll just read the original manhwa, sigh.


Runner Ups:

Yeo Jin Goo, Reunited Worlds

Lee Hyun Woo, A Liar and His Lover



Busiest Man of the Year: Kim Won Hae, Chief Kim/Tomorrow With You/Hwarang /Strong Woman/The Bride of Water God/While You Were Sleeping/Black


THIS MAN IS EVERYWHERE. Literally. Kim Won Hae may not be one of the lead actors in the dramas he is in, but he sure does know how to steal the spotlight whenever he’s on screen. Despite not being a lead, Kim Won Hae has become imperative to the narratives of both dramas with his unforgettable presence and skillful acting. His acting is garnering even more attention because his respective roles in the dramas are polar opposites of each other. Now that's what you call real talent!


 

OMG Finallyyy!! That was a really long list of winners! It was such an overwhelming experience to choose and justify my selection even though it was distressing because I just can't choose one! All of the dramas this year were so competitive in different aspects as it gives you reasons why you have to watch them again and again.


Thank you, thank you so much to all the people who stopped by and read my endless blabbering. I hope you didn't exit too fast before finishing the whole thing! I also wish you to take into consideration the dramas/movies I recommend because I want to share the effort and time these filmmakers gave to produce these masterpieces. Sooo it was a fun 2017 year! I am so looking forward to many years of writing reviews in my blog. I really wish you enjoyed reading as much as I enjoyed writing. Let's welcome the new year together! Have a happy and prosperous New Year to all of us! <3


Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page