top of page

[Confession] Suspicious Partner

Before anything else, I would like to define my drama reviewing:

First, I won't be posting episode recaps for dramas because i don't trust my character - I tend to get lazy when I have routines to accomplish and

Second, sometimes when I decide to watch a drama, I depend my continuance on the first episode. So if ever I am interested in a drama, I will watch the first episode and I will review it just to see how it goes. If I liked it, I'll have a continuation review after I finished the whole thing.

Kke, let's go! :D

 

When I had Suspicious Partner lined up, I didn't know what I was up for. I just liked the fact that I was in the mood to watch the K-dramas I'm interested in and then I watched the first episode and I knew then and there that I've met my next dramaland crack. Help.


Here is the synopsis of the drama:


Noh Ji Wook is a unique prosecutor. He is handsome, hard-headed and intelligent who strives hard to be successful. He is the perfect example of what a prosecutor should be. Later, he becomes a lawyer. Eun Bong Hee is a prosecutor trainee. Once a former taekwondo instructor, she trained to become a lawyer. She is confident and strong, but naive. She is assigned to work under Ji Wook. They work together on a mysterious case involving a sly psychopath murderer. As they're working as a team, they develop affection between them.


The first episode had me cackling out loud at its hairpin turns of hilarity and rapid-fire repartee, and the light, breezy rom-com tone had me hooked. Then the murder case came crashing in and I found myself suddenly emotionally invested in deeper throughlines, like Nam Ji-hyun’s vulnerability and Ji Chang-wook’s inner battle over doing the right thing. The show reminds me of I Remember You in its mixing of comedy with murder, mystery, and introspection, with touches of I Hear Your Voice in its engaging presentation of courtroom drama. It’s funny, the story moves quickly, and I already love that exasperated face that Ji Chang-wook makes every time Nam Ji-hyun does anything. Hihi


The casts were all talented. Ji Chang Wook and Nam Ji Hyun were both fantastic actors and I love to watch the play of emotions on Chang Wook's face. It was so priceless! Chang Wook was right in choosing a drama so far from his action shizz because we can finally see that he has some comedic timing up on his sleeves. Nam Ji Hyun, on the other hand, was so earnest and sincere in her acting that I remembered why she became my acting prowess after Shopping King Louis. She didn't disappoint me in here so she specifically has a space in my heart. Choi Tae Joon as Eun Hyuk was such a cutie pie and his awkwardness and his boyish charm and enthusiasm were fun to watch. I actually thought he would be a backstabbing friend because I couldn't get over his character on Missing 9 - good thing he wasn't like that and totally convinced me that he can be a good guy as well. The antagonist Jung Hyun Soo was a scene-stealer too! They all turned in their usual solid, beautifully nuanced performances, and I have nothing but great things to say about them here.


I would’ve enjoyed Suspicious Partner more if it had ended a little earlier (or maybe had more lovey dovey scenes) because the final quarter felt really slow compared to the rest of the series. Twenty (20) episodes was actually too much. There were also few inconsistencies but these were overshadowed because they were all just too adorable. For me, Suspicious Partner worked well as a romance and not so well as a legal thriller, so the mashup wasn’t as smooth as I would’ve liked, but I'm sad to see it go. The drama really made me high. Plus, Ji Chang-wook and Nam Ji-hyun should totally date in real life!


 

My Rating:

Plot: 8.5/10

Acting: 9.6/10

Cinematography: 8.3/10

Characters: 9.3/10

Uniqueness: 7.5/10

OVERALL RATING: 8.6



Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page