top of page

[Confession] The Best Hit

Before anything else, I would like to define my drama reviewing:

First, I won't be posting episode recaps for dramas because i don't trust my character - I tend to get lazy when I have routines to accomplish and

Second, sometimes when I decide to watch a drama, I depend my continuance on the first episode. So if ever I am interested in a drama, I will watch the first episode and I will review it just to see how it goes. If I liked it, I'll have a continuation review after I finished the whole thing.

Kke, let's go! :D

 

Wow I'm high on K-drama this month! This is the 3rd time I've finished a K-drama and I couldn't be any prouder than now. The best thing is I'm still eager to watch more! I'm really thanking my K-drama vacation that I'm kicking dramas one by one now! hahahah Now let's proceed to today's drama: The Best Hit!


Here is the synopsis of the drama:


In 1993, Hyun-Jae (Yoon Si-Yoon) is a member of popular idol group Jay-2. He is well regarded for his voice, dancing skills and fashion. Gwang-Jae (Cha Tae-Hyun) is Hyun-Jae’s manager and popular singer Bo-Hee (Yoon Son-Ha) is his girlfriend. One day, Hyun-Jae suddenly disappears. One moth later, his car is found by a lake and he is presumed dead.


In 2017, Gwang-Jae now runs a small entertainment company. His son is Ji-Hoon (Kim Min-Jae) is 23-years-old. Gwang-Jae wants him to work in the civil service field, but Ji-Hoon wants to become an idol. Ji-Hoon pretends to study for his civil service exam, but he actually spends his time as a trainee for top entertainment company Star Punch. Meanwhile, Woo-Seung (Lee Se-Young) is Ji-Hoon’s friend and she has studied to become a civil servant for the past 3 years. She wants a stable life, being affected by her mother who went through several divorces.


Back in 1993 and on the day Hyun-Jae disappears, a typhoon hits South Korea. Hyun-Jae accidentally slides down the stairs of a building where his management office is located and his momentum takes him all the way out of the building. He is almost hit by a car. The car is driven by Ji-Hoon, Woo-Seung and MC Drill (Dong Hyun-Bae). Hyun-Jae has somehow arrived in the year 2017.


I wouldn't say that this was the Best Hit drama there is - there were many things that defy human logic, a lot of slow-paced scenes that we could have skipped and the time-travel made no sense in this show. I wonder how the production cope with large holes for a plot? The real reason it kept me hanging there were the Actors. Really. This show got a powerhouse cast and I would be fine just by looking at their faces althroughout the drama. It wasn't much but at least it was something. Another one I wanted to point out was that this was supposedly promoted as a drama like Producer - but unfortunately, other than the world of showbiz, there were no similarities at all.


But on the other side, I was so smitten with Da-bong (Yoo Si Yoon) that my brain just sort of glossed over the big holes and smoothed out the jagged edges, leaving me with warm fuzzy feelings about the drama as a whole. For whatever reason, I found myself looking forward to the next episode. Now I think because this show has been so loosey goosey with its plot, I had a very real fear that nothing would get resolved in the end, but I’m glad to see that Hyun-jae has matured despite himself, and that he’s actually thinking about how his actions affect others for a change. From that aspect, I think the characters really did have a nice development.


Ji-hoon’s (Kim Min Jae) parting monologue perfectly sums up the overall message of hope The Best Hit aspired to convey. Every person has dreams they have chased, put aside, or were lucky enough to achieve, and we could see those varied forms in the lives of our characters. The real hero in this drama was Gwang-jae (Cha Tae Hyun) who made the big and small sacrifices over the years, the many opportunities he let slip by, and rooted for him when he finally made a decision for himself. Even in real life, as the Director of this drama, I'm really proud of Cha Tae Hyun.


Even with its flaws, I found some joy in the show’s overall breezy tone that gave us delectable subplots and a loosely strung main storyline. What I loved most, though, was the music—not only did all of my favorite artists lend their voices to the soundtrack, but the song lyrics in the anthem tunes and the rhymes in the rap are wonderfully inspirational and spur me to believe that the best days in life are yet to come.

 

My Rating:

Plot: 7.0/10

Acting: 8.0/10

Cinematography: 7.0/10

Characters: 7.0/10

Uniqueness: 5.0/10

OVERALL RATING: 6.8

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page