top of page

[Confession] Shopping King Louis

Before anything else, I would like to define my drama reviewing:

First, I won't be posting episode recaps for dramas because i don't trust my character - I tend to get lazy when I have routines to accomplish and

Second, sometimes when I decide to watch a drama, I depend my continuance on the first episode. So if ever I am interested in a drama, I will watch the first episode and I will review it just to see how it goes. If I liked it, I'll have a continuation review after I finished the whole thing.

Kke, let's go! :D

 

I want to be back to my old times when I didn't need to wait for current airing dramas but instead enjoy the presence of already-made dramas. Shopping King Louis did the trick and was my happy pill this week. It was so fun and childlike that I was only smiling throughout the series. Awe~



Here is the synopsis of the drama:


A romance takes place between Kang Ji-Sung aka Louis and Ko Bok-Sil. Louis is from a rich family, but he has lost his memory. Ko Bok-Sil is a woman with a heart like an angel. Louis learns about true love after meeting Ko Bok-Sil.

I binge-watched Shopping King Louis when I was feeling sick from new dramas and it was absolutely the perfect medicine. This show starts out really crazy and weird, but by the second episode the leads meet and there’s a cheery, easygoing dynamic there that I want to come back for. There are so, so many things that defy logic in this drama… and yet, watching Seo In-gook be ridiculously adorable is just enough to keep me hanging in there. It does require a full buy-in of the world and its unrealistic tone, but can be quirky and fun once you accept it.


How can you not fall in love with these adorable, naive, selfless puppies? The cuteness was cracktastic, but what I loved the most about this drama was its message about forming relationships, be they romantic, familial, or friendly, proving that even the oddest, quirkiest person can find their soulmate if they only look. Normally I don’t care for stories that tell us a couple was fated just because they met as children, but in this case, it wasn’t fate that brought them together again, but kindness. Kindness was one of the greatest factors of the show.


For Acting, I knew I loved Seo In-Gook before, but I loved him here even more. He was childish

at expressing everything but he's not as annoying as bitter Pil (ehem). He was consistently adorable when I thought he would turn mature after regaining his memories. But consistency is key so he won me over. The Breakout Artist I've discovered here was Nam Ji Hyun. I've seen her on small roles but this immensely established her acting career. After this, I know what to watch next because of her (ehemsuspiciouspartnerehem). Now my biggest regret is I was late to watch this. If I should've watched this in 2016, my category for Best Actress and Female Breakout Artist would have been tough and rough - all because of Nam Ji Hyun. I am very much looking forward to her captivating gentle aura soon.


Shopping King Louis is a definite example of a feel-good drama - if someone made a YouTube puppycam of Louis and Bok-shil just sitting in a box being cute, I’d leave it on all day. And I don’t think I’m alone in saying that I’ll miss Louis and Bok-shil and their unconventional, insane, and utterly lovable family.

 

My Rating:

Plot: 8.0/10

Acting: 8.9/10

Cinematography: 7.5/10

Characters: 8.5/10

Uniqueness: 5.0/10

OVERALL RATING: 7.6

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page