top of page

[Confession] Tunnel

Before anything else, I would like to define my drama reviewing:

First, I won't be posting episode recaps for dramas because i don't trust my character - I tend to get lazy when I have routines to accomplish and

Second, sometimes when I decide to watch a drama, I depend my continuance on the first episode. So if ever I am interested in a drama, I will watch the first episode and I will review it just to see how it goes. If I liked it, I'll have a continuation review after I finished the whole thing.

Kke, let's go! :D

 

Wow, it's been quite a while since I finished a Korean drama and I'm not actually expecting to be back soon! But intriguing k-dramas keep popping here and there so I just had to be back from vacation and start with Sign-- Tunnel!

Here is the synopsis of the drama:


In 1986, Detective Park Kwang-Ho (Choi Jin-Hyuk) desperately tries to catch a serial killer. He chases after the serial killer and goes through a tunnel. On the other side of the tunnel, Detective Park Kwang-Ho finds himself in the year 2017. The serial killer has resumed the killings that began 30 years ago. Detective Park Kwang-Ho works with Detective Kim Sun-Jae (Yoon Hyun-Min) and Professor of Criminal Psychology Shin Jae-Yi (Lee Yoo-Young) to catch the killer.


Okay, sorry about that mistake above. I only did that because the first thing that pops into my mind on detectives and time-traveling is my Best Plot/Script on my last KICA Awards 2016: Signal! The only difference was the walkie-talkie on Signal and the Tunnel here. Pft. sneaky bastard haha!


But I wouldn't close my doors for something that low. It still comes down to how well it struck me in first impressions. And I'd say that Tunnel did a great job keeping me intrigued althroughout.


Tunnel may not be the twistiest thriller-mystery out there, but the writer certainly has great sense of

timing for every revelation. The question isn't what going to be revealed. It's always about how they are going to reveal it and how each character will react to that. The emotional punch the writer gives makes up for the predictability. If Tunnel was up for a couple of years back, I would've made this a runner-up on Best Writing. The Bromance of Kwang-Ho and Sun-Jae doubles that. The one thing that may have set me off was knowing that the real criminal didn't break much eureka on me.


I liked how the writer wrote Kwang-ho. He is a simple man. He was crystal clear about what was important: As a detective, it was about saving people’s lives, and as a man, is was about sharing his life with his family. In either timeline, Kwang-ho was never about promotions, money, or accolades — he lived his life fifty dollars at a time in the fast-paced present. He had his flaws — he was awfully emotional in the interrogation room and oftentimes spoke with his fists but his strengths did much to compensate for his weaknesses. Kwang-ho was loyal (talk about a one-woman man), tenacious, caring in his own gruff way, empathetic, and a natural-born detective. He showed time and again how one person can make a difference in the lives of others.


All well ends well. I appreciate that I got to see new actors in a channel that's also new to me. Keep it up!

 

My Rating:

Plot: 8.7/10

Acting: 8.6/10

Cinematography: 7.0/10

Characters: 7.0/10

Uniqueness: 6.0/10

OVERALL RATING: 7.4


Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page