top of page

[Confession] Bliss

It been a few weeks since I've last updated. All because I wasn't feeling well. So when I watched Jerrold Tarog's Bliss on its very first day of run, I knew this review will have to wait because I need not only to get better but also to fully digest the Psychosexual mind-fckness of the movie. Now let me tell you how blissful this was of a movie.


Here is the synopsis of the movie:


Jane Ciego (Iza Calzado), a successful actress, produces her own film to gain respect from the industry. During the film production, she is involved in a terrible accident that leaves her disabled. She is left in her house under the care and supervision of her husband, Carlo (TJ Trinidad) and a cruel, unusual nurse named Lilibeth (Adrienne Vergara). As days go by, she descends into insanity as she experiences horrors and madness while being trapped in her own home.


This controversial movie made head turn when the MTRCB committee gave this movie an 'X' Rating on its first review. But God is truly good when they appealed for a second review and gained the 'R-18' instead. Allowing the mature audience to appreciate the film without cuts and censorship.


I, on the other hand, knew this was a different case. It's not about ratings and/or who were the actors playing. It's the plot. The obscure nature it brings whenever I watch the teasers. It's an intriguing indie movie of a different caliber. I just knew it. And another flag that raises the expectation is because this was Directed by Jerrold Tarog. And everything he has made somehow entered my watched-list.


This movie took a little while to get to the point. I know it's a technique that's why I was more engaged in the story—and even better, unpredictable in an enjoyable way; I have no idea where it’s going or what kind of ending to expect, but I don’t mind going along for the ride. Bliss has this feeling of inception where everything you think is real isn't really real. The first few minutes of the movie gives you fragments of scenes and you won't know which part is just a figment of an imagination or it is really happening. The movie's structure forces the audience to think before they feel it.


And to further heighten the distress this movie evokes, the horror intensifies as it gets closer to reality. Truthfully, I was freakin' scared at the ending scene than the whole nightmare combined. I felt fear because it may happen anytime and you won't know it. I commend the actress who played Lilibeth (Adrienne Vergara) because she's one of the most disturbing characters I've encountered. She's perfectly brainsick, she's scary af and it's effective.


Another thing to highlight is how the showbiz industry works. The opening monologue catches Jane's plight as she struggles to grant every wish the people has on her. She latter becomes an empty vessel who has no passion in her work and collects trophies and recognition as a hobby. She said she wanted to level-up her career by acting on a movie she produces but doing so gave her more consequences than accomplishments. It shows the industry's cycle of abuse not only to artists but to people behind the scenes as well.


Bliss is a movie worth re-watching because it arouses the audience' cerebral capacity to not just appreciate it but to raise questions as well. It also shows that ignorance isn't always a bliss.


I've always have had faith in independent films. It's inspiring to know that Filipinos can still produce quality films that can go against foreign films - they just have to look deeper and fill in real meat. And I, as a spectator, will always be eager to patronize films that tickles the consciousness aka mind fckery such as the movie Bliss. Kudos!

 

My Rating:

Plot: 9.8/10

Acting: 10/10

Cinematography: 10/10

Characters: 10/10

Uniqueness: 8.0/10

OVERALL RATING: 9.6

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page