top of page

[Contemplation] Welcome to the Underworld by Con.template

*major feels alert*

*major spoiler alert*


*These are the exact words I commented on the thread of the story found at Soompi. So this isn't a review - it's a reaction post. Haha


UPDATE (November 2016):


This is to tell you that Welcome to the Underworld by Con.template has been published into Four (4) books! *hooray dance* You can buy the book and/or ebook at https://www.createspace.com/3882165 - Con added new scenes and revised scenarios for us to enjoy it better. And yes, I already bought the booksthat's why I'm immediately recommending this to ya'll. Ppali ppali!

 

I just finished Welcome to the Underworld awhile ago.

And Gosh, I am so speechless with everything. I was left crying at the last part when everything shatters before my eyes and falls down. I wasn't in love with it at the beginning (well, I always do that when I read something in the start) to be frank, I really don't know why people love this. I mean, it was too mysterious and too long for me to read. I really don't get anything, too. But as I explore the journey through finding Paris, I was left in awe. I was so astound with the author's imagination that I felt I was the one who thought of it. The words she picked depicts exactly what was on her mind. One by one, it made sense. One by one, it made my heart skip beats. And one by one, it made me fall in love.


Kwon TaeHyun wasn't my type of guy in the first place. Since he's arrogant, blunt, and quite selfish. And Choi Yoori wasn't the type of girl I wanted to be in the first place. Since she's innocent, stubborn, and boring (in a way). But then again, they grew more mature and subtle that TaeHyun made himself the guy of my dreams, and Yoori made herself the girl I want to be. They were so delicate and perfect. They made each other come into a world -- a world that only the two of them can enter. I fell in love with how they bicker so much, on how they threw off each other with their witty remarks, and how they made themselves comfortable together. I can't forget those countless nicknames they gave to each other (Boomerang, snob, and brat to name a few) and always teasing one another nonstop.


That was when dilemmas came into the picture to ruin everything. Their trusts, love, and loyalty for each other were tested. And those tests were beyond comparable. It almost broke my heart. Good thing they were able to cope up with those things from their pasts and what awaits them in the future. Nevertheless, I still like every bit of those challenges. How they searched and found PARIS. I thought everything will be okay till' the end but I was so wrong. I guess there are just things in life that are uncontrollable. Something no one could ever prevent. But that's how it is, right Con? You have to end things like that so that it could be better. It's because it's the best way.


Right now, I am in between the word BITTER-SWEET. I don't have regrets reading Welcome to the Underworld because I am in capable of accepting things they are made to be. On the contrary, I am still in pain realizing that Welcome to the Underworld had to leave so soon and there would be no more Yoori, TaeHyun, Nemo, and even Ducks. It's because it's so attached to me that I feel that I was in their shoes in the fleeting moment I start reading it. But don't worry, WTTU will always be one of those outstanding fictions I read if ever I am given a chance to give rewards. You've given me a lot of inspiration, Con. Though we may not know each other, or even talked to each other, I was inspired with every word you put in this fiction to make it as a full circle--as a whole.


I just want to remind you that I'll always be reading your works -- active or inactive -- I'll try my best to reply to the things I felt and learned with every fiction you will write. Thank you so much for writing this story. And thank you for being who you are and bringing the life out of these fictitious characters.


No matter how long their journey has been, and no matter how difficult their life may be. Them, searching and finding for PARIS was definitely worth it. ♥


P.S. Read this book now and find out what PARIS means!!

 

My Rating:

Plot: 10/10

Characters & Dialogue : 10/10

Structure & Pacing: 10/10

Theme: 9.8/10

Style & Tone: 9.8/10

OVERALL RATING: 9.9

NOTE: This review came from my old soompi and facebook account and was posted in August 2010.

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page