top of page

[Contemplation] The World’s Best Guy by Starlight Drops of Water

*spoiler alert*


I’m back to give another review from the fanfic I’ve finished 15 minutes ago. Unlike from the Moonlit Masquerade I recently reviewed, this actually is a TRANSLATED FIC! A translated fiction is when is it translated by an awesome translator from Korean (Japanese or Chinese) to English to be read by most people. So going back! It’s THE WORLD’S BEST GUY by: Starlight Drops of Water and translated by: jenI

Here is a quick synopsis of the fiction:


Yoo EunAh was upset that she was bothered by her mother to go to a grocery store to fetch something in the middle of the night. After doing what she was told to do, 2 guys suddenly approached her borrowing for money. EunAh was hella scared for sure, since she didn’t see the guy’s face much, his approach sure frightened her. After a couple of seconds of denying her $10, she finally gave it to the guy and since the guy said he doesn’t want to be in debt to anyone, he advised EunAh to go to SanGo High and look for the name Kang Sungmin. Hearing the name as the guy left, she realized that the guy was actually SanGo High’s POPULAR Kang Sungmin!


OKAY. So what’s my comment about the fic? Simple. HE REALLY IS THE BEST GUY IN THE WORLD THAT IT FEELS UNREALISTIC TO EVER FIND A GUY LIKE HIM!!! It would be a blessing to have a guy like that! Well, who wouldn’t? Who wouldn’t be touched if he gives you a $600 diamond ring? Who wouldn’t laugh when he confesses he is longing to see you everyday? Who wouldn’t be amused that he actually steals kisses while you’re asleep? And who wouldn’t be amazed when he organized his own wedding just to be a runaway groom and take you with him? NOW THAT’S THE BEST GUY! When I actually read the first chapter, I was like “I think I already read this -.-" but then, I THINK I REALLY DID. But it was too long ago to remember when. I actually found the story new to me except for the climax parts which I quite remember but other than that. It’s a great story. It’s an epitome of US AGAINST THE WORLD (more likely FATE) and I would dare say I had a few wipe of tears while finishing it.


It’s a typical korean story which came from a typical mind of a korean but sometimes reading cliche still interests us - the thing we are just waiting for is "What will separate this story from the rest?” and I’m glad to say that the author managed to skip over that obstacle like a piece of cake.


To wrap it up, The World’s Best Guy is recommended to people who does light reading (since it’s only 200 pages), who likes translated fics as much as I do or just someone whose intrigued to how this couple will manage to win versus the world.


P.S. I kinda imagined the main guy here like the guy in ‘He Was Cool’ - which is another cool story turned movie, btw!

 

My Rating:

Plot: 5.0/10

Characters & Dialogue : 6.3/10

Structure & Pacing: 6.8/10

Theme: 7.8/10

Style & Tone: 4.0/10

OVERALL RATING: 6.0

NOTE: This review came from my old tumblr account and was posted in June 2013.

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page